FBC Jacksonville Blessing

We have made our annual trip to Jacksonville, Florida and are currently enjoying a wonderful conference.   The Lord has blessed this trip with some tremendous encouragements. 

It was a wonderful blessing to see the Homer G. Lindsey award go to Bro. Joe Denson.  It was truly an encouraging and heartwarming testimony to see a faithful soldier recognized for his loyalty to the Lord and the Lord’s church.  Most of the men that I know do not serve the Lord for any  “potential glory from men”, but it sure is good to see a good man given an industrial strength blue ribbon stamp of encouragement.

I would be remiss, if I did not mention the fact that out of the last seven conferences, and the few times that I have heard him speak, Mac Brunson preached the best sermon that I have  ever heard from him.  The Lord used it in a mighty way in my life.  I was also very encouraged to hear him emphasize, “whosever will,”  “whosoever will.”  I was also thoroughly addressed by Dr’s Evans, and Hill as well.  I’ve never heard Dr. Stetzer before, but found his message to be generally refreshing.   (One disagreement, but not now.)

One of my suprises was Jim Smyrl’s session on the Theology Driven Ministry.  I am not one given to the “latest and greatest”, and I don’t know enough about it to comment on it.  However, after listening to his philosophy of ministry I was pleasantly refreshed.  I get excited every time I find someone that “has not bowed the knee” to the social gospel.

In May 2011, Dr. Emir Caner is scheduled to speak at the church that I pastor.  That being said I had the opportunity to visit with him for a little while, and couldn’t help but walk away with a smile on my face. 

The one thing that we haven’t seen yet that we are looking forward to, is the FBC choir.  They are undoubtedly one of our favorite parts of the conference.

I am truly excited about the rest of our time here, and look forward to all that the Lord has in store.

Leave a Reply

