Pastors Appreciation (Of His Church)

 It’s official.

I have the privilege of pastoring one of the elite churches in the Lord’s kingdom.  I only wish that every pastor could experience the joy of being a part of such a wonderful group of people.

How it was decided, and who decided it, I do not know, (I suspect Focus on the Family to behind the whole thing) but someone has declared October to be Pastors Appreciation Month, and that is the way that it has been for the last several years.

The thought of an “official” time set aside for expressing appreciation to pastors has always met with an awkward feeling inside of me that has never let me be comfortable with the idea.  I have always assumed that when one person appreciates another person for something they did, or for the person they were, that person A would always let person B know.  I guess that’s not always the case.

That being said, I have no words to express the humility and gratitude in my heart for the people of Pinecrest Baptist Church.  Since the beginning of this month, they have been pouring out all kinds of undeserved, unmerited, and unearned goodness on me and my family.  In all actuality, since 2006 this group of people has been overwhelmingly generous with their grace for the Haneys.  My greatest fear is letting them down.

It is my wish to one day be able to communicate to this church, the appreciation and love that I have for them with at least a fraction of the way that they have communicated it to me. 

I realize that the relationship between some churches and pastors are strenous at best, but I have been blessed to have never endured that.  The reality is that some churches just flat don’t appreciate the man that the Lord has given them for spiritual leadership. For some people, the pastor is nothing more than a man who signed up to be abused by grumpy, greedy, ill mannered and ill tempered people.  I praise God that He has not placed me into that kind of congregation. 

The other side of the coin is just as sad.  Some pastors are really nothing more than pesters who view the church as a kingdom they can rule, and a flock they can fleece.  These men have no business in the ministry of the gospel, and it breaks my heart to think of some congregations that are putting up with those kind of men.

I for one want to say loud, and proud, that I love and appreciate Pinecrest Baptist Church.  They love the Lord.  They love the Bible.  They love to see lost souls come to Jesus.  They also love their pastor more than he’s worth, and for that I am grateful.

Leave a Reply

