The Necessity of the Doctrine of the Security of the Believer

“And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, with all thy soul, and with all thy mind, and with all thy strength;  this is the first commandment.” – Mark 12:30

 

One of the fundamental doctrines of the Bible that true, sure Bible preachers have declared for centuries is the truth of “Once Saved, Always Saved.”  It is the doctrine known as the Security of the Believer.  Preachers of the truth, have been expounding this fact for as long as their have been God-Called preachers.  For Baptists, it is a hill to die on.  As a matter of fact, for every believer it is, and/or should be a hill to die on.  Only once a person rightly understands this truth can he fully and freely love and serve the Lord God.

Of course there have always those false teachers who loudly proclaim that “the once saved always saved” doctrine is nothing more than cheap grace and a license to sin; understanding neither grace, nor what happens at the moment of salvation.  Their cliché argument goes something like this; “If what you are preaching is true that I can get saved, and then go sin all I want to, and I still get to go to heaven.”  Of course such an argument betrays the ignorance of salvation.  The fact is that once I am saved, I sin far more than I want to, and the new nature within me, and the new creature I’ve become now has a desire not to sin.  A person who has been converted by the their faith in the Lord Jesus is now running  from sin, not to it.

Now that being said, there is something here every believer needs to know.  Without the security of Salvation, it would be hardly possible for any man or woman to truly love and serve the Lord with all their heart, soul, mind, and body.   As long as a person is serving to be saved, their service is never truly for the Lord, it is for their own benefit, and their love is never truly selfless it is motivated and tainted by fear of loss.

The Security of salvation is not to free a man to sin, it is to free a man to serve!  It is to free a man to serve the Lord for no other reason, and with no other motive, than pure untainted Love.  The Bible says “perfect love casts out fear.”  As long as my salvation is “up in the air” or is “loseable”, my service, my love, my will, and my heart, will never be able to truly obey the First commandment.  Only once my salvation is settled, secured, signed, sealed, and delivered, am I free to and able to serve the Christ that Saved me, out of no other motivation than untainted love, unfeigned loyalty, and undying obedience.  Any other doctrine is not a change worth making.

Leave a Reply

